Bordeaux is one of the most renowned and appreciated French wines in the world, produced in Aquitaine near the city of Bordeaux, in the Gironde department, in the lands located along Garonne and Dordogne rivers.

      Bordeaux grape varieties are:

      Reds: Cabernet franc, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot, Petit Verdot, Malbec and Carmenere

      Whites: Sauvignon, Sémillon and Muscadelle for white wines

      The main production is the one of red wine (80%), followed by the one of white wine (20%), both dry and fortified.

      According to the wine regions of origin and to the crus, there are many different classification systems for Bordeaux wines.

      For Médoc wines: in occasion of the Universal Exhibition of 1855 has been defined the first classification system and it is based on Crus Classés ranging from the first to the fifth.
      Premiers Crus
      Deuxième Cru
      Troisième Cru
      Quatrième Cru
      Cinquième Cru

      Currently are part of this classification a total of 60 châteaux of Médoc and one château of Grave.

      For Grave wines: it is not a real and proper classification, but rather a mention dating back to 1953, the one of Cru Classé, for all those wines which according to specific criteria are considered as having a certain prestige.

      For Sauternes and Barsac wines: the classification includes three crus.
      Premier Cru Supérieur Classé
      Premier Cru Classé
      Deuxième Cru Classé.

      For wines from Saint-Emilion area: the classification dates back to 1954 and includes three crus, the first one includes a further subdivision.
      Premier Grand Cru Classé
      A (superior quality)
      B (inferior quality)
      Grand Cru Classé
      Grand Cru

      For the remaining wines, the ones which are not among the most valued ones: it is not a classification, but a mention, the one of Cru Bourgeois.